Italiano | Deutsch | Français | Român | Nederlands | Русский | 한국어 | 中文 | 日本語 | ภาษาไทย | Việt

Madison Morrison's Web / Criticism /
MM as the Vergil of the Classical Chinese Nachlass

慕禮生:繼承古典中國文化資產的維吉爾

Richard Beck

維吉爾是純正的希臘羅馬人。他撰寫的史詩「埃涅阿斯」受荷馬史詩的影響,因此採用了希臘文來命名,故事底下的英雄人物也以很類似荷馬筆下人物的希臘名字命名為埃涅阿斯(Aeneis),但卻有個更為人所知的羅馬名字Aeneas。史詩中所乘載的羅馬價值與對奧古斯都的推崇是經由卡利馬科斯(Calimachus)與阿波羅尼奧斯(Apollonius)仿造希臘化時期寫作模式完成的,這兩位都繼承了維吉爾的後荷馬風格。雖然字裡行間淡淡透出荷馬風格,讓人聯想到伊里亞德(Iliad)或是奧德賽(Odyssey),維吉爾採用的卻是亞歷山大風格,而非古典希臘前期的寫作風格。

同樣的,「農事詩」表面上看似偏向赫西俄德風格,實則更偏向阿拉托斯,內容也是暗示羅馬早期農事而非赫西俄德的「工作與時日(Works and Days)」。直到他過世之前,維吉爾都為當代人熟知,不是因為史詩巨作「埃涅阿斯」(維吉爾不斷修改,直到過世之前,除了學生針對「埃涅阿斯」記下的三部筆記,其餘都未能發表),而是因為「牧歌集」與其他摹擬希臘化時期寫作傳統的詩作,風格較為鄉村世俗,屬於忒奧克里托斯的田園詩派別,而非實質上的牧羊詩歌。維吉爾既不是牧羊人也不是農夫,更絕非廣義上的僕從而是文學贊助者的食客,用他的無比感性的詩作滿足他的資助者。

「牧歌集」、「農事詩」與「埃涅阿斯」延續了(一)亞歷山大式的文學文化(二)古典希臘文化(希臘三大悲劇作家埃斯庫羅斯、歐里庇得斯與索福克勒斯作品中多有呈現,當代詩詞表達以及古典史學亦然)(三)後期哲學思維(蘇格拉底、柏拉圖與亞里斯多德)還有(四)由羅馬人創作的希臘文學。維吉爾作品中包含的四個希臘文學時期並不是依照歷史時間順序,「牧歌集」採用了較後期的風格,而「農事詩」與「埃涅阿斯」則屬於前期風格,然而同時也模仿了希臘戲劇的形式而更顯得複雜。

 

因此,希臘文化是某種程度的離散經驗,整個文明世界都被包容在內,如同維吉爾的作品般,古典一再的被複製模仿。同樣的,古典中國文化源於中國,擴散到北亞(韓國與日本)再到東南亞,主要是越南,但因為深受中國古典文化教育影響華人的龐大人口,中華文化深入東南亞各地。慕禮生(Madison Morrison)的作品大多是以短篇呈現描述這些國家,但也有以批判形式和網路形式呈現,他的作品呼應日本、韓國、越南與緬甸,甚至是中國本身對於中華文化學習的足跡。

現代希臘亦曾經歷了古希臘復興,中國亦然。其中最為人知曉的便是新儒家主義的朱熹。不像希臘的現代古希臘復興,朱熹成為新中華文化的基礎,他的理念遠播至日本,韓國,越南,泰國,曼德勒與雅加達(緬甸與印尼部分地區)。在中國地區,朱熹更創造了後古典中國文化,濃縮了孔子思想中的精華並讓儒家思想成為中國古代科舉的考試內容。維吉爾亦是當時義大利甚至是全歐洲的教育標準。

對維吉爾的效仿可以從但丁的作品當中輕易發現(他在詩作中加入了詩人角色),阿里奧斯托與塔索的浪漫史詩的元素源於「埃涅阿斯」,包括法國的新古典史詩,還有英國史賓賽和彌爾頓,他們的作品中都不難察覺到維吉爾的存在。維達(Vida)重寫維吉爾的詩句,維吉爾的影響力一直到十九世紀末期才稍稍衰退。維吉爾的研究深深豐富了羅馬文化,也是十七世紀古典希臘復興的開端。慕禮生(MM)在他的史詩作品中小心融合了維吉爾風格中的三階段。

最明顯的是他在書寫希臘議題的「重生(Renewed)」中引用「牧歌集」,描述義大利北部的「Divine」中的「農事詩」,以及關於土耳其、希臘、義大利南部的「Second」當中的「埃涅阿斯」(就像在但丁詩作當中一樣,維吉爾成為了書中的一角。)慕禮生(MM/Madison Morrison)作品遵循維吉爾對歷史的應用,但稍作變更:他列入中國文化時期。慕禮生的希臘分期,像維吉爾一樣,順序是混亂的。小說「輪迴(Revolution)」屬於柏拉圖式的對話;「孕育Engendering)」交織希臘化時期的文學。「超越(Excelling)」則是荷馬風格。

Exists, Regarding and All」採用了「前文本」,就像奧古斯丁文學當中模仿希臘風格一樣。如同羅馬後期的白話文學(作家繼承了希臘化時期的傳統),慕禮生的批判作品企圖結合老子的道德經,孔子儒家經典和佛家道統。「慕禮生的中國」寫入了中國戲劇(以白話闡釋),好比「埃涅阿斯」中Aeneas和Dido其實是希臘神話中的Medea和Jason的化身(史賓賽在「仙后」中的Britomart是Medea和Jason二人的融合體;彌爾頓在亞當與夏娃中同樣影射了這兩個人物)。

慕禮生追隨維吉爾,經由回朔源頭和追朔其文化在其他國家的影響來模仿學習外國文化(維吉爾足跡遍布中古世界),更在作品中模擬引用古典文本。慕禮生的批判文章似乎是唯一與維吉爾沒有關聯的,因為維吉爾並沒有利用白話書寫希臘或是解釋自己如何處理文化議題的過程。維吉爾與荷馬的風格相去甚遠,而慕禮生的史詩「眾神的句子」更沒有任何史詩的影子,雖然的確融入了其他史詩作品。

 

慕禮生的新維吉爾實踐需要更多的詳細的探討。在「輪迴(Revolution)」與「孕育Engendering)」中究竟如何融合孔子與老子思想,這又會有什麼樣的效果?佛家道統又是如何在早期作品當中呈現,並且與批判文章中處理佛學的手段有何差異?「超越(Excelling)」是中國旅遊文學的傳統書寫,但卻不受儒家、道家思想或佛家論述的限制。與「Bangalore Esightings」一樣,「慕禮生的中國」總結他對印度傳統的吸收。這些問題就留待後進來探討。

Italiano | Deutsch | Français | Român | Nederlands | Русский | 한국어 | 中文 | 日本語 | ภาษาไทย | Việt

Madison Morrison's Web / Criticism
MM as the Vergil of the Classical Chinese Nachlass

MM as the Vergil of the Classical Chinese Nachlass

Richard Beck

 Vergil is quintessentially Roman and therefore Greek to the bone. His Aeneis is so imbued with Homer that he gives it an apparently Greek title, though one that uses an obscure Latin form for the name of his hero elsewhere called Aeneas. The epic’s Roman values and its celebration of Augustus are accomplished through the decadent assimilation of Hellenistic modes, as in Calimachus and Apollonius, two of Vergil’s post-Homeric models. For though every other line alludes to Homer’s texts, and every other book to the Iliad or the Odyssey, the mode whereby Vergil accomplishes this is Alexandrian, not pre-classical Greek.

 Likewise, his Georgics, though they seem to be Hesiodic, owe more to Aratus and to obscure early Roman treatises on agriculture than to the Works and Days. Even at his death Vergil was principally known. not for his Aeneid (which required more polishing and so had not been published when he died, except for the recitation of three of its books), but for his Eclogues, another poem in the decadent Hellenistic tradition, which owes much more to the urban, urbane Theocritus, than to any actual pastoral experience. Vergil was neither a shepherd, a farmer nor a general but a literary minion of Maecenas, who was titillated by his lofty languor.

 The rota (or cycle), Eclogues, Georgics and Aeneid, perpetuates not only (1) Alexandrian literary culture but also (2) Classical Greek culture (as in the Athenian drama of Aeschylus, Euripides and Sophocles, contemporary lyric expression, and even classical historiography), (3) later philosophical expression (as in Socrates, Plato and Aristotle) and (4) the literature written in Greek by Romans. The four phases of Greek culture embodied in Vergil are not in historical order: the late models for the Eclogues precede earlier models for the Georgics and the Aeneid, which nonetheless complicates matters by imitating the Attic drama as well.

 

 Thus Greek culture experienced a kind of diaspora, the whole civilized world being imbued, as Vergil had been, with its classics, which were widely imitated. Classical Chinese culture likewise spread from China, to Northeast Asia (Korea and Japan), to Southeast Asia, principally to Vietnam but also to capitals elsewhere with a strongly Sinitic population, which was educated in the Chinese classics. In his own work, notably in pamphlets about these countries, but also in critical essays and web presentations, MM echoes the traces of Chinese learning in Japan, Korea, Vietnam and Burma, but also in China itself.

 Modern Greece has often experienced an Hellenic revival, and so did China, most notably under the Neo-Confucianism of Zhu Xi, which, unlike modern revivals of Hellenic thought in Greece, became the basis of a new Sinitic culture, in Japan and Korea, Vietnam and Thailand, Mandalay and Jakarta (if not throughout Burma and Indonesia). Zhu Xi also created a post-classical Chinese culture in China itself, refining and abstracting the original principles of Confucian doctrine and making them the basis of the Chinese examination system. Vergil became a standard for education not only in Italy but throughout Europe.

 The imitation of Vergil, for example, was a familiar mode for Dante (who includes the poet in his poem) and of the Aeneid for Ariosto and Tasso in their epic-romances; for a neo-classical epic in France; and for Spenser and Milton in England. Vida wrote a Christian poem by overwriting the very words of Vergil, whose influence persisted at least through the end of the nineteenth century. The study of Vergil inspired a greater mastery of Roman culture, which led in turn to the revival of the Greek classics in the seventeenth century. In his own epic Morrison deliberately incorporates the three phases of the Vergilian rota.

He does so most obviously by quoting the Eclogues in Renewed, his book about Egypt, the Georgics, in Divine, his book about Northern Italy, and The Aeneid, in Second, his book about Turkey, Greece and Southern Italy (where Vergil, as in Dante, becomes a character). Morrison’s work follows Vergil’s use of the past but in a different way: he embeds analogous phases of Chinese culture too. MM's Greek phases, like Vergil’s, are out of historical order. Revolution, a play of ideas, belongs with the Platonic dialogues; Engendering's interweaving, with Hellenistic literature. Excelling is Homeric.

Exists, Regarding and All, with their distant "pre-texts," are like Augustan literature's distant imitations of Greek models. MM's criticism attempts, like Roman prose of the late period (by writers educated in the Hellenic tradition) to come to terms with Lao-zi’s Dao De Jing, with the Confucian Analects and with Buddhist doctrine. MM's China embeds a Chinese drama (in paraphrase) as the Aeneid embeds Medea and Jason in Vergil’s principal characters, Aeneas and Dido (Spenser will vary this practice by combining the two in his Britomart; Milton, by shadowing them in his Adam and Eve).

 Morrison, then, follows Vergil by imitating a foreign culture, by returning to its sources, by tracing its influence in other countries (Vergil likely traveled throughout the Mediterranean world), and by embedding through imitation and quotation its classic texts in his own works. Only in his criticism does he depart from Vergil, who seems not to have written in prose about Greece or explained his own procedures for handling its culture. Like Vergil, whose model so radically departs from Homer, Morrison’s epic resembles no epic that precedes Sentence of the Gods, despite its incorporation of other epics.

 

It remains to study his neo-Vergilian practice in much greater detail. How, exactly, are Confucius and Lao-zi embedded in Revolution and Engendering and to what effect? How does Buddhist doctrine figure in the earlier book, and how does its handling there differ from its handling in the criticism? Excelling is in the tradition of Chinese travel literature but is free of explicitly Confucian, Daoist or Buddhist discourse. MM’s China summarizes the process much as Bangalore Esightings brings to conclusion his incorporation of Indic tradition. I leave these matters for others to reconsider at length.